Guam's Villages

There are 19 beautiful Districts, or "Villages", in Guam. Each Village has its wonderful, unique attributes.

Take the time to enjoy each Village...and feel free stop by each Mayor's Office to say "Hafa Adai!".  



Mayors Council of Guam Village Image
Mayors Council of Guam Village Flag
Mayors Council of Guam Village Flower
Mayors Council of Guam Village Sign
Village signage artwork by artist, Maria Cristobal Calori.


Hagåtña is the capital of Guam. It is located in the center of the island and part of the Kattan (Eastern) District. The village derives its name from the word “haga”. “Haga” means blood and that this village came about due to the bloodlines of families and relatives that helped establish this village. Hagåtña became a village when the Spaniards decided that the area be the capital of the island. Hagåtña is where you find places named after the saints, as the city is also the seat of the island’s religion – Catholicism. The three branches of government: Judicial, Legislative, and Executive are located here. Also, it is the center of all commercial activities with legal offices, banks, department/variety stores, insurance, technical and professional services and recreation facilities.

Street Address:
236 East O’Brien Drive